Item GlossaryEverQuest icon

Ornate Orb of Mastery  
 

MAGIC ITEM LORE ITEM NO TRADE PLACEABLE
Slot: PRIMARY
Skill: 1H Blunt Atk Delay: 30
DMG: 20 Dmg Bonus: 28
This item is placeable in yards, guild yards, houses and guild halls.
STR: +15 DEX: +5 STA: +10 INT: +20 MANA: +100
SV FIRE: +20 SV COLD: +20 SV MAGIC: +10
WT: 1.0 Size: TINY
Class: MAG
Race: HUM ERU HIE DEF GNM DRK
Slot 1, Type 4 (Weapon: General)
Slot 2, Type 20 (Ornamentation)
Item Type:1H Blunt
Light:Stein of Tears
Stackable:No
Submitted By:Fleven
Lucy Entry By:Melfor
Item Updated By:SwiftyMUSE
Source:Live
IC Last Updated:2018-09-24 23:27:40
Page Updated:Thu Oct 9th, 2008
Ruins of Kunark Item
Lost Dungeons of Norrath Item


Rarity: Common
Level to Attain: 50

[Quests | Comments ]

This item is the result of a quest.

Quests: This item is used in quests.

Zone(s) Found In:
Screenshot

Uploaded November 27th, 2008
Send a correction
Post Comment
time
# Mar 23 2005 at 7:51 PM Rating: Decent
25 posts
about how long would it take, on part that you can solo.
____________________________
Freedom is when you can ignore all the rules.
Including your own.
-Panic Crew-
My Monk - http://www.magelo.com/eq_view_profile.html?num=1190514
still shafted?
# Mar 17 2004 at 12:54 AM Rating: Decent
**
308 posts
So wait....you aug your epic then lose the aug when you log out? Im confused as to how this compares to other epics...We get even more shafted it seems like...?
____________________________
-- All characters currently retired --


"Subtlety is the key to most victories."
RE: still shafted?
# Mar 26 2004 at 7:48 PM Rating: Decent
*
195 posts
You summon an Orb of Mastery, give it to the quest person and get one that DOESN'T disappear and you can augment. Summoned Orb is no rent, this one is permanent.
____________________________
Farwarden Aquendar Lerilon, 105 Season Human Ranger of Tunare
Xegony
My Fantasy Novels
My Profile
RE: still shafted?
# Mar 27 2004 at 11:07 AM Rating: Decent
6 posts
I've never turned my orb in for the Ornate Orb. However, I've only summoned my orb once and it is always there when I log back in. That doesn't sound very NO RENT to me.

I don't recall if it has aug slots or not. Maybe you need the ornate one to augment.
RE: still shafted?
# Apr 18 2004 at 12:54 PM Rating: Decent
4 posts
The Orb of Mastery is NOT no rent. But it does only have one charge for the epic pet. So if you wanted to summon your epic you would need to summon a new Orb of Mastery. I liked a idea someone had for a spell that just recharged it.. Would be nice to get the Perm on and a spell to charge it.. instead of having to deal with both
Giving to pet
# Feb 24 2004 at 5:33 PM Rating: Decent
4 posts
SO, can we give this Ornate Orb to our pet? Summon a new one and turn it in again for another Ornate?
RE: Giving to pet
# Jan 26 2005 at 12:44 PM Rating: Decent
I beg to differ, I am a fairly new mage and I give my pet no drop hammers from DSP all the time.
RE: Giving to pet
# Mar 06 2004 at 5:04 AM Rating: Good
pets can not equip no drop items anymore
____________________________
Deathspeaker Phelon Blackdays 70th Wraith
Officer of Primal Evolution
Morell Thule
Clearing up a few things
# Feb 23 2004 at 9:40 AM Rating: Excellent
26 posts
Just to clear up a few things here for all these confused people.

If you server transfer (which they can do with items these days btw) You still have your epic. They cant take away your spell, Summon Orb, you will always have it if you have completed the epic. If you want to summon the pet, summon the orb and swap out the summoned orb for the permanent one (yes i know they are lore, but they are different items, you can have one of each.) Dont think about trying to have one in each hand though, they both have to be in Primary slot so you can only equip one at a time.

As far as it summoning the pet at lvl 59, I dont know what level the clicky starts working, but 59 is not correct. I had my epic at lvl 57 or 58 and summoned the pet just fine, this was years ago so lord knows what they've changed since then.

The entire reason why they did this was because Magicians were griping and crying that we couldnt augment our epics like everyone else because we didnt have a permanent version. So now we can put an augment on it (Like the Diamond Prism of Companionship).

Hope this clears up a few things.
(And I too would like to know what a low 50's Mage had in his primary that the epic is a step down from ??? )
RE: Clearing up a few things
# Jun 25 2004 at 4:12 PM Rating: Decent
2 posts
It is a great idea to stick an Aug in your new Augmentable Epic, but don't stick any of the Summoning Foci in your Ornate Orb of Mastery. Your epic pet can be Focused by augs like "Diamond Prism of Companionship", but only if it is on an equiped item. If you stick an aug like this in your epic, and switch to you Summoned: Orb of Mastery in order to summon your epic pet, your pet will not be focused because the aug is on your Ornate Orb of Mastery.

Good post Sovartis, just thought I would point this out.

On that same note, I would suggest sticking Focus Augs like "Diamond Prism of Companionship" on a ring, necklace or some other jewelery piece. There are many opourtunities to upgrade your armor (Head, Chest, Forearms, Arms, Feet, Legs) as you progress, and it would be easier to aug a powerful piece of jewlery and keep it around for a while than switching back and forth between "Summoning Gear" and your elemental armor. This won't be a serious issue in the coming weeks when we get the ability to remove and re-use augs.
RE: Clearing up a few things
# Oct 04 2004 at 7:28 PM Rating: Decent
6 posts
Unfortunately DPoC is Primary Secondary Range only
____________________________
Solant Autumnwind <Chosen Souls of Exile>
Arch Convoker of Saryrn
orante orb
# Feb 14 2004 at 8:39 AM Rating: Decent
8 posts
Can you give the ornate orb to your pet and then go back for another one? Thinking this might be a nice weapon for him to use. If we can summon orb multiple times, then can we hand in for ornate orb multiple times? I would love to know if this can be done before i give to pet?
Level?
# Dec 21 2003 at 1:51 PM Rating: Decent
what lvl does it start at? .. i started epic at lvl 46 .. have all but Quillmane and Sky trip really, but in no hurry. Dont know what lvl it will work for me at .. anyone know.
____________________________
I'm a paladin ... it's what I do ...
RE: Level?
# Jan 24 2004 at 3:38 AM Rating: Default
**
287 posts
lvl 59 is when the clicky epic pet works.

You can hold any lvl but click works at lvl 59. Follow link below to see for yourself (i know i always like to...)

Manafest Elements (Lvl. 59)
Summon Pet: SumMageMultiElement
http://everquest.allakhazam.com/db/spell.html?spell=1936
RE: Level?
# Mar 13 2004 at 9:37 PM Rating: Decent
17 posts
WRONG sir WRONG WRONG WRONG, it is a PROVEN fact that you can cast the pet at level 51, possibly level 50, I've SEEN level 51 mages with epic pet out. I'm level 46 atm with epic, and magician serverwide channel said it would work for pet at level 50, we'll see in about 1 week =)
RE: Level?
# Jan 26 2005 at 7:34 PM Rating: Default
**
287 posts
my mistake...

I deleveled my mage once to 46 and clicked it back up to 65.

i got mine at 59 and was misled by the link.

I stand corrected
Not augging
# Nov 25 2003 at 10:34 PM Rating: Decent
24 posts
I dont see it being worth the effort to get the perma version of it... Its not a good enough item to aug. The only thing its good for is the pet... and Im a mage!
____________________________
Firona Vie
- Nyture: ~ 55th Conjurer of Tunare ~
#djmcfunksta, Posted: Oct 27 2003 at 7:19 PM, Rating: Sub-Default, (Expand Post) Finally better epics!
RE: YES!!!
# Oct 27 2003 at 7:39 PM Rating: Default
*
73 posts
This is better by no means. Though it is both permanent and augmentable, this item has had it's summon effect removed. Which means that those wishing to use this will have to use a free inventory space to hold the hold summoned version, should they want to ever use the proc.
RE: YES!!!
# Jan 20 2004 at 5:39 PM Rating: Decent
Guru
****
5,311 posts
One only needs to swap the ornate orb for the time it takes to summon and activate the no rent version.

If you believe that's an unreasonable requirement, by all means, do not get the permanent version.

Nyture, I'm just curious. What were you carrying at level 51 that the epic was a step down for your primary hand?
____________________________
"God created man from a handful of dust, and he created woman from that man's rib. And these two together were so stupid that they weren't on the planet five minutes when they managed to get a curse put on all future generations. Nice work." Pat Condell
RE: YES!!!
# Oct 31 2003 at 8:27 AM Rating: Decent
12 posts
would prolly be easier to use if the spell was changed so that it would charge the ornate orb, but then you would lose the server transfer ability
RE: YES!!!
# Oct 28 2003 at 10:06 AM Rating: Default
27 posts
What this means is...If you server transfer...Ba bye epic.
Because of the "spell" it was the only epic that was transferrable.
RE: YES!!!
# Oct 29 2003 at 7:26 PM Rating: Excellent
**
497 posts
No, it doesn't. The epic is still summonable via the spell, but it summons the non-augmented version with the clicky.

You turn in one of those summoned ones to get a permanent slotted one that just has stats. Want the epic pet? Cast the spell, summon the norent epic, click the epic, trash it, put the permanent one back on.
____________________________
Branaddar - 70 Wizard on Tholuxe Paells - Everquest
Razormaw - 71 Monk on The Rathe (Born on Tholuxe Paells) - Everquest
Jarreck - 66 Monk on Befallen - Everquest 2
RE: YES!!!
# Oct 28 2003 at 12:33 AM Rating: Default
*
117 posts
yes but the magis i know that use this tend to summon their Orb then use effect distroy then equip this ornate version.

Edited, Tue Oct 28 00:35:03 2003
____________________________
Visionary Kadic Nitethissle
<Crimson Legacy>
71 Bedazzeler
E'ci

http://www.magelo.com/eq_view_profile.html?num=767887
Post Comment

Free account required to post

You must log in or create an account to post messages.